Detailed scholarship information for applicants (ECP21, Berlin 6. - 9.8.2024)

The European Association of Personality Psychology (EAPP) will offer 20 scholarships to support postgraduate students and early career researchers, based on scientific excellence of the contribution submitted to ECP21 and of the candidate’s curriculum vitae (see below). Application is restricted to participants who are EAPP members at the time of application (if you are not already a member, see

10 of these scholarships are reserved for postgraduate students and early career researchers who are in need for financial support in order to attend the conference. Eligible candidates are citizens and/or residents of LIE (low income economies), LMIE (lower-middle income economies), UMIE (upper-middle income economies), or another Central or Eastern European country which was not included in the above categories, but which belongs to the former communist states (Eastern bloc). For an updated classification of countries based on their income, see the latest classification found on the World Bank official website (

Application Process

Applications must include the following information, in a single PDF file:

  • The application form (see below)
  • Curriculum vitae (max. 5 pages)
  • Certificate of postgraduate student status (e.g., a photocopy of a valid student identification card or other form of valid student identification or a declaration from your department must be attached to the application)
  • A copy of the abstract submitted for ECP21.


Applications should be sent to this e-mail address ( before March 29th 2024. A participant is not entitled to more than two consecutive scholarships.

Selection process

Applications for both types of scholarships will be evaluated by a committee appointed by the local organizer, based on the following criteria (in order of importance):

  1. Quality of the Abstract submitted,
  2. Curriculum vitae of the candidate (please, specify also any career breaks, e.g., for parenting, caretaking, or other reasons).
  3. Country of residence: In case of ties, the scholarship will be assigned to the applicant who optimizes diversity in terms of country of residence.
  4. Gender: In case of a further tie, the scholarship will be assigned to the applicant who optimizes diversity in terms of gender (including male, female, and non-binary).
  5. Further ties will be sorted out by the committee with a majority vote.

Description of the scholarships

  1. The scholarship will consist of 250€ support in travel costs, and a waiver of the reduced conference fee, i.e., the lowest fee that applies to you (e.g., early bird). Participants who pay a conference fee that is higher than the reduced fee that applies to them (e.g., a late registration) will only be refunded the equivalent of the reduced fee.
  2. Awardees who also attend the Summer School for Personality Science will receive additional €500.
  3. In addition, awardees from eligible countries (i.e., LIE, LMIE, UMIE, etc., see above) who do not have other funding sources to cover for travel and accommodation expenses can request further financial assistance from the EAPP, up to additional €750. These will be used to refund documented travel and accommodation costs beyond €250, upon presentation of all relevant receipts to the EAPP secretariat (
  4. Notice that any refund for travel expenses (the €250 plus up to €750) will be granted after the conference only to participants who attended the ECP21 in person, as documented by a certificate of attendance.

Scholarship Application Form (PDF)


Scholarschips were awarded to the persons listed below: 

  • Cheng, Rongxin (University of California, Davis)
  • Costa, Ariela Raissa Lima (São Francisco University)
  • Feraco, Tommaso (University of Padova)
  • Galkina, Anastasiia (University of Milano-Bicocca)
  • Hardin, Benjamin (Washington University in St. Louis)
  • Hughes, Bradley T. (University of Toronto)
  • Li, Ranran (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)
  • McIlvenna, Micheala (Queen's University Belfast)
  • Mei, Kehan (University of Warwick)
  • Mostajabi, Janan (University of Michigan)
  • Nielsen, Sienna Rose (University of Michigan)
  • Nissen, Adam (University of California, Davis)
  • Oliveira, Sofia (BRU-Iscte, Iscte-Instituto Universitário de Lisboa)
  • Sahakari, Sakshi (University of British Columbia)
  • Schmiedecke, Vivian Maike (University of Strathclyde)
  • Tang, Yixin (Utrecht University)
  • Vukojević, Iva (University of Zagreb)
  • Wertag, Anja (Institute of Social Sciences Ivo Pilar, Zagreb)
  • Wiedenroth, Anne (Technische Universität Dresden)
  • Zhang, Stella (University of Toronto)